Bose x NME

NME approached DMS to help bring their long-established C-Series to life on vinyl

Mark Hoynes for DMS - 06 Jul 2023
Emerging Artist Series

NME approached DMS to help bring their long-established C-Series to life on vinyl for the first time, through this C23 double-gatefold vinyl in collaboration with Bose.

The NME C-series first started in 1981 with the C81 mixtape featuring artists such as John Cooper Clarke, The Specials and other artists signed to Rough Trade. Then emerged the infamous C86 mixtape, in you guessed it, 1986 with introductions to such artists as The Wedding Present, Half Man Half Biscuit and an opening track by none other than Primal Scream. The series then dipped in and out of circulation, until the last release in 1996 of the C96 mixtape featuring artists such as Mogwai and Babybird.

Their C-series mixtapes have long been an important part of introducing music fans to an eclectic mix of the best new artists and bands out there, now available for the first time on vinyl. What better than this pair of double frosted-clear records providing the perfect analogue format to showcase the best new artists that NME have to offer! Taken from our standard colour range of vinyl, these are both an economical colour and great-sounding option, frosted clear vinyl is often considered comparative in audio quality to black vinyl, due to the composites involved in the process.

Photo credit: NME

The sturdy gatefold sleeves offer a deluxe packaging option that are sought-after by music fans due to the additional panels available to show-off the artwork on the inside of the sleeve. In combination with the classic gloss varnish honing a soft and subtle sheen, this is a beautiful looking gatefold that is a great reflection of the records and brilliant music contained within. This release arrives hand numbered, making it all the more collectible and a sought-after addition to any record collection.

Photo credit: NME

NME and Bose have been giving away the limited edition, hand-numbered release via some of our favourite independent record stores in the UK (and US) such as Rough Trade.

For a full list of how to grab a copy (providing there’s any left!) please visit the below link:

Artists featured on the record are:
070 Shake, Blu DeTiger, Chloe Moriondo, Danielle Ponder, Dot Major, FelixThe1st, Flo Milli, Genesis Owusu, Half Alive, King Princess, Jockstrap, MICHELLE, Renforshort and Wevel.

Copyright © 2024 Disc Manufacturing Services Ltd. All Rights Reserved.
Cookie Policy - Privacy Policy - Terms & Conditions - Technical Conditions & Disclaimers
DMS Vinyl, Second Floor, Prideaux Court, Palace Street, Plymouth, PL1 2AY. United Kingdom.
Registered in England and Wales no 5127922 at this address. VAT registration no 838 5310 21